American Indian Workshop

This webpage will be migrated to a new server and therefore will be temporarily offline.

American Indian Workshop

The American Indian Workshop (AIW) was founded in 1980 and has become the most important European scholarly platform for researchers concerned with topics related to the Native Peoples of North America. The AIW also includes scholars from all over the world. [more...]

American Indian Workshop - Annual Conference

The AIW meets annually in a European city. Responsible for the organisation of the annual conference are the local organizers, who also choose the general topic of the meeting.

American Indian Workshop - Annual Conferences since 1980: Conference

40th American Indian Workshop

April 24 - 27, 2019

Indigenous Economies: Sustenance, Sustainabiliy and Sovereignty

Faculty of English, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznán/Poland

Organizers: Elzbieta Wilczyñska & Zuzanna Buchowska & Michał Kapis


Registration [until April 15, 2019]:



41st American Indian Workshop

[date tba] 2020

[title tba]

Department of Ethnology, Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich/Germany

Organizer: Henry Kammler

42nd American Indian Workshop

[date tba] 2021

[title tba]

Department of British and American Studies, European University Cyprus, Nicosia/Cyprus

Organizer: James Mackay

[Persons and institutions interested in candidating for the organization of a future American Indian Workshop, please contact the AIW Organizing Committee:]

Up-to-date information on Native Americans/American Indians/First Nations/Inuit offered by AIW members on:

Membership & AIW Mailing List

You want to become a member of the AIW [no membership fees]?

Click: Membership

You want to subscribe to the AIW mailing list and get up-to-date information?

You want to send an information to the AIW mailing list?

Click: Mailings/Info

AIW on Facebook

Find us on Facebook

American Indian Workshop

(Only subscribers to the AIW Mailing List will be admitted to this Facebook group! For subscription see: Mailings/Info)

AIW on Linkedin

American Indian Workshop

AIW Committee and Mandates

[All mandates were approved by Business Meeting of the 32nd AIW in Graz on April 1, 2011.]

    AIW Organizing Committee:

Renate Bartl / Markus Lindner / Thomas Donald Jacobs / Sylvia Wackernagel / Elzbieta Wilczyñska / Zuzanna Buchowska / Michał Kapis / Henry Kammler / James Mackay

General Management:

Renate Bartl


Sylvia Wackernagel




Renate Bartl


Thomas Donald Jacobs

    Journals / AIW Journal:

Sylvia Wackernagel

Mailing list moderator:

Renate Bartl

    Webpage / Mailserver:

Renate Bartl


Renate Bartl / Markus Lindner


Markus Lindner